New York-Day 3-June 18

29 Jul


On Tuesday took the subway to Coney Island to visit Nathan’s and sample the famous frankfurters. Instead I had chips [french-fries] with a disgusting liquid “cheese”.

IMG_0279

The other thing Coney Island is famous for is the fun fair.

DSCN0275

At least I had the chance to photograph some gulls on the beach.

DSCN8045

Ring-billed Gull

DSCN8068

Laughing Gull

DSCN8070

American Herring Gull

Ventured onto the beach to get shots of birds on the rocks. Always feel like a voyeur going onto beaches with scantily clad women!

DSCN8058

Double-crested Cormorants, American Herring Gulls and Ring-billed Gull.

From Coney Island headed to Grand Central Station.

DSCN8072

Grand Station Station main atrium.

Next was the UN building.

IMG_0289

Biblical inscription opposite UN building. Great ideal but no sign yet of it being heeded.

IMG_0290

The UN building.

Then headed to the Empire State Building, timing our visit to coincide with sunset

DSCN8074

Empire State building from the “sidewalk”.

DSCN8084

Where’s King Kong?

DSCN8091

The Flat Iron building

DSCN8081

Macy’s

DSCN8083

It’s a long way down!

DSCN8077

DSCN8113

Manhattan all lit up including Chrysler Building

DSCN8100

Sunset over Manhattan

DSCN8116

Finally headed to Times Square.

IMG_0305US Force recruitment in Times Square

IMG_0306 My hero Bender

IMG_0304

IMG_0301

I found Times Square a bit too much. The lights are so bright! Also very busy but it had been a long day.

One Response to “New York-Day 3-June 18”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Purple Hairstreak | hullvalley - August 3, 2013

    […] [Editorial note:- due to the light evenings and good weather I've found it hard to find time to blog. I'll try and do one occasionally so don't think I've given up! I had a week in New York in June and although not a birding trip I did take a few pictures. Currently posting these on another blog [which I hope my regular followers are keeping up with] with so far birds from Central Park and Coney Island.] […]

Leave a comment