Smew at North Cave Wetlands

4 Feb

A redhead Smew was reported at North Cave Wetlands on Carp Lake early afternoon. Didn’t bother with the one this time last year but with a total lack of the species on my regular sites this winter this one tempted me. Heading out of Cottingham on Harland Way had a car pull up behind me. Kept him behind as far as Hunsley Beacon. As usual left him for dead on the straight but with the mud on the road beyond Little Weighton he would catch me up on the corners. Fortunately wasn’t annoying enough to get any response except an initial light touch on the brake to say “you’re going to fast” when he originally caught me up. Fortunate, as when me parted company at the Hunsley Beacon x-road I realised it was a guy I worked with. Don’t think he knew it was me though!

Getting into North Cave I had a look at the lake behind the church where I had at least 6 Goosander.

At the Wetlands the Smew was still on Carp Lake but never came close.

DSCN1695

Redhead Smew on Carp Lake

Also a good number of Gadwall. Heard a few Lesser Redpoll by the lake but flew out of view. As on my last visit a good few Shelduck on site.

DSCN1705

Shelduck on Island Lake

A few Tree Sparrow showing well on the feeders by the maize field.

DSCN1704

DSCN1699

Tree Sparrow below feeders

DSCN1696

Great Tit on feeder

A Little Egret had been seen earlier on Island Lake but no sign late afternoon. At least 17 Redshank roosting on the raft on Main Lake and again a good number Pochard with a smaller number of Tufted Duck.

DSCN1710

Carp Lake at dusk

Leave a comment